August wrap-up!

I read seventeen books on August, my own personal record. I’m still behind on my reading challenge though, so I’ll have to read a bit more next month.

Let’s get onto the books!

I read five books through Net Galley (which by the way, it’s awesome):

-MRS, a story about three different women, and their lives after the death of a famous love-sex life columnist.

-Nice Girls Endure, about a young girl’s journey as she discovers the courage to declare her own beauty and self-worth, no matter what others might think.

-Dancing in the rain, that explores the impact the tragic fall of the Twin Towers had on two very different Caribbean families.

-Be Light Like a Bird, that explores what it means to be a family — and the secrets and lies that can tear one apart.

-Waking in time, a book full of romance, twists, and time traveling.

Urano, an Argentinian publishing house, sent me these two books and I absolutely loved them. I have yet to write a review about Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda, but if you speak Spanish here’s my Finding Audrey review.

I also read two books by CoHo (aka Colleen Hoover), which brings the total count to four books!

-Hopeless, which in my humbleopinion wasn’t thaaaaat good. I had some problems with the characters, especially Dean “kind of stalker” Holder.

-Maybe Someday, a book about music, love, betrayals, with amazing song lyrics from Griffin Peterson.

I read one classic, Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury, which was a bit of a slow read, but I really liked it.

And, courtesy of eBooks for Review, I read The Truth About Fragile Things, by Regina Sirois, a fantastic book about two girls who join forces to complete the bucket list of a man who made both of their lives possible. (Full review to come!)
I read a book I’ve been meaning to read since forever, The Land of Stories, by the amazing Chris Colfer. I loved the story, it was way better than I expected.

I read the first book by Stephanie Perkins, Anna and the French Kiss, and I really enjoyed it. It’s a feel-good, cute romance story, that surprisingly does not focus only on the romance.

Next book is Shatter Me, by Tahereh Mafi. It’s about a girl with this special ability, that basically puts people in a lot of pain when they have contact with her skin. I liked the way it was written, and who real Juliette’s isolation felt. I can’t wait to see who her powers develop in the next book!

And the next two books are only in spanish for the moment, so I am not gonna get you all excited for this books. But if you speak spanish, expect my reviews to come soon! The books I’m talking about are Mamá India, by Soledad Urquia, and Australia, by Santiago La Rosa.

And last, but not least, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child! Though it didn’t feel like “the eight Harry Potter book”, I really enjoyed it. I had some wft moments, and some “is this a fanfic” moments, but it was really nice to go back to the trio, and their grown-up lives.

And that’s it! The seventeen books I read on August. I do hope I can read as much this month! Who about you? How many books did you read?

Publicado en: YA

2 comentarios en “August wrap-up!

  1. Carigo Books dijo:

    ¡Hola! Y wow, 17 libros *.* jajaja
    A mí Hopeless me encantó pero cada uno tiene sus gustos ^^ Y tengo muchas ganas de leer Maybe Someday, creo que será de mis próximas lecturas. He oído mucho eso de que Harry Potter and the Cursed Child parece un fanfic en algunas escenas jajaja…
    Un besazo.

    Me gusta

Responder

